The Case for Dayton

The home for Big East hoops

The Case for Dayton

Postby UD_Earl » Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:37 pm

First and foremost, I am a Dayton homer. UD Grad. UD 20+ Year Season Ticketholder. Heck, I spent 2 years in the Army after I graduated from high school to earn enough college money to attend UD. I was a Part Time Professor their for about 10 years as well. So yes I am a homer. But I believe I have somewhat of a good case for adding Dayton to the NBE that really has nothing to do with Money or Markets. It has to do with hate. I have been thinking about it for sometime now and it has really come to light on this board in the last week or so. What the NBE lacks in a lot of hate. Who hates DePaul, Butler, Seton Hall, Providence or Creighton? Not many. Who hates Dayton, well I guess you all now that Xavier fans do. Marquette fans to a certain degree.

Dayton fans are passionate. That annoys some and irritates others. But we love our Flyers. Yes, we may have an bit of an inflated sense of worth. We wish our NCAA record of late was better, but it has not been. I think it all goes to the notion that we think that we have everything necessary to be a big time major program. We have it all. We are located in a Greater Metro area of about 1 million people. We have a tremendous home court. Check out this link from the USA Today about the Dayton area, UD and the Arena:

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaab/2014/03/18/why-the-ncaa-tournament-starts-in-dayton/6559801/

We have such a passionate and loyal fan base. Check out this link from this week's Columbus Dispatch:

http://buckeyextra.dispatch.com/content/stories/2014/03/18/dayton-basketball-it-really-is-a-big-deal.html